Search The Aerodrome
Today in History

Learn how to remove ads

The Aerodrome Forum

Learn how to remove ads

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > WWI Aviation > Aircraft

Aircraft Topics related to WWI aircraft, aircraft engines and armament

Closed Thread

Old 27 November 2009, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Two-seater Pilot

Siemens-Schuckert D. III/IV in Switzerland

Hello everyone

I'm a new guy and although I've never built WW1 plane before, I have quite some experience in scratch building WW1 vehicles.
I have just ordered the new Roden SSW D.III kit and - as I live in Schaffhausen in Switzerland – I am very interested in the two SSW D.IIIs that both landed near my hometown in November 13th 1918.

Until now I found just some miscellaneous information in that foum, i.E. …

SSW D. III, No 8356/17, Kest 4b or 5
Fritz Beckhardt / white swastika / landed near Rapperswil

SSW D. III, No 8356/17, Kest ?
? / Totenkopf / landed ?

SSW D. III, No 8344/17, Kest ?
Arnold Eger / ? / landed near Schaffhausen

SSW D. III, No 1618/18, , Kest ?
Arnold Eger / ? / landed near Schaffhausen

Could someone provide me with further information or links?
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old 27 November 2009, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Forum Ace of Aces

Hello There,

Welcome to the Forum!

According to my late friend Peter Grosz, on November 12 and 13, 1918, twelve German pilots (at least some of them from Kest 5) landed their aircraft in Switzerland to avoid having to hand them over to the Allies. Peter states that this is SSW D.III 8356/17, and was flown by pilot Lange of Kest 5. It appears here with its German markings painted over with Swiss insignia:

Here is a better known photo of the same machine, showing the rudder now entirely (?) overpainted in red with a white cross.

As for the swastika-marked machine, it was reportedly flown by Fritz Beckhardt of Kest 5. Some of our members on this forum know considerably more about that machine than I do, so I'll leave it to them to comment.