The Aerodrome Forum
Help
Links to Other Sites
Medals and Decorations
Search The Aerodrome
Today in History

The Aerodrome Forum

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > Archives > 2001

2001 Closed threads from 2001 (read only)

Old 29 October 2001, 12:32 PM   #1
Martin

Can someone please explain the process by which you apply them to the wings as I am new to this type of decal and have found it hard moulding them to the contours of the wing. Do you use a decal softener or micro sol solution or what.
Your help please Gentlemen.

Old 29 October 2001, 10:47 PM   #2
PeterL
Forum Ace

"Do you use a decal softener or micro sol solution or what?"

Yes. Preparation is also important so be sure to use a nice gloss undercoat on the part to be decaled; A colour which matches one of the lozenges is best.

Peter L
Old 30 October 2001, 05:29 AM   #3
GuyCanuck

I have been using the Micro-Set "system" for years and it
has served me well, giving the decals almost a painted-on
appearance. Basically it is a 4 step system;
1- use a gloss finish on the whole model (Testor, Micro,etc.)
decals adhere to gloss finich better.
2- use a liberal amount of Micro-Sol on the area to be
decaled - this will help to position the decal without
tearing it up - excess can be blotted with tissue paper
3 -when you have the decal exactly where you want it,
brush Micro-Sol sparingly on it - let dry completely
at least 10-12 hours.
4- brush or spray flat finish on all the model
If you have difficulty with various curves, slice the decal
slightly with a razor blade and repeat the application of
Micro-Set.

Old 30 October 2001, 08:12 AM   #4
BobE
Scout Pilot

Martin,
Just a thought. You aren't trying to apply them in one piece are you? That could really make things difficult and is inaccurate to boot. Lozenge fabric was applied in sections and attached with rib tapes. I have not done one myself yet so I am not an expert. Hopefully one of the gang will chime in on this.