Medals and Decorations
The Aerodrome News
Search The Aerodrome
Today in History

Subscribe to remove ads

The Aerodrome Forum

Subscribe to remove ads

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > Archives > Models

Models Topics related to WWI aircraft models. Forum is closed for posting.

Old 13 September 2004, 07:23 AM   #1
JohnReid
Shot Down

I would like to propose a new thread on the basics of diorama building.Airplanes,buildings,structures,cars,truck s ,tools etc.. etc.. both scratchbuilt and kitbuilt in any scale. Beginning with THE IDEA thru to THE FINISHING TOUCHES.I dont know of any site devoted to the building of WW1 aircraft dioramas and I would be willing to get one started on this forum.What do you guys think? Cheers! John.
Sponsored Links
Old 13 September 2004, 08:45 AM   #2
DonnyW
Two-seater Pilot

Hi John, I for one would be interested. As you know, Im primarily a flying model aircraft builder, but that doesn't mean that I couldn't pick up some good tips from your methods. I try to watch and listen to all sorts of modeling from railways to boat builders to aircraft and utilise the "tricks of the trade" where appropriate. After all..we are all after the same goal .. replication in miniature B) . Personally..I think I can handle the aircraft to my satisfaction (never to old to learn a trick or too though ) but would be interested in tips on making pilots and props (not propellers )etc. I do see more and more people in the static part of competition flying, displaying figures in and around their models.. a nice touch IMHO
Old 13 September 2004, 10:16 AM   #3
StephenLawson
Shot Down

Greetings all. An excellent idea. Though by no means complete here are a few reference threads while we work on this subject.

Laws of Modeling 101

Model Construction 102

Modeling Poetry 301

Modeling Psychology 201

Large Format Dioramas 202

The Art of Modeling 203

Modeling Mediums 103

WWI Aviation Modeling Basics 302

Modeling Health 401
Old 13 September 2004, 10:31 AM   #4