The Aerodrome Forum

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > WWI Aviation > People

People Topics related to WWI aviation personnel

Closed Thread

Old 15 January 2005, 01:19 PM   #1
pysonya
Observer

Lt. Ernest A. Love of Prescott AZ

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this forum. This is my first post.

I own a flying business at "Ernest A. Love Field" the Prescott Arizona municipal airport. I'm trying to find information about our airport's namesake, US Army 1st Lt. Ernest A. Love.

The best information I have found so far indicates he was with "A" flight of the 147th pursuit squadron, flying out of Rembercourt. He apparantly was shot down in a SPAD on September 15th, 1918 near Tronville while on the way to Verdun.

He died of wounds on September 16, 1918 while in captivity.

Any information anyone can contribute would be appreciated. It seems strange to me how little seems to be known about the last hours of this young man. He is standing far right in the group photo.
Thanks,
Dan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ealove.jpg (23.5 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg Ernest Love standing far rt-small.jpg (31.5 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg love plaque-small.jpg (34.6 KB, 29 views)
Sponsored Links
Old 15 January 2005, 05:47 PM   #2
pysonya
Observer

...some additional info...

I found an online history of the 1st Pursuit Group at WW1 1918 historical timeline for 1st Fighter Group
which shows: "16 September 1918 17th - First Lieutenant Ernest A. Love killed in action near Verdun".

The "17th" is presumably a reference to the 17th Aero Squadron. There is a book about the 17th entitled "The Camel Drivers" which I have, and it is fascinating, but contains no reference I can find to Lt. Love. Might this be a simple error, or might he have been detached to the 17th?

Does anyone have access to German kill claims that might shed any info on his loss on the 15th or 16th?