Today in History

The Aerodrome Forum

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > WWI Aviation > Aircraft > Replica Aircraft

Replica Aircraft Topics related to the construction of WWI replica aircraft

Closed Thread

Old 24 March 2006, 11:00 AM   #1
Huckebein

Getting started

I am really interested in building a replica Fokker D. VII . I have no experience whatsoever... aside from some model flying kits. I was planning to buy the plans and take a course in learning how to weld. What other steps can I take to get started?

Thanks in advance

Huck

Old 24 March 2006, 12:01 PM   #2
Jim Bruton
Forum Ace

Welcome!

Hi Huck!

First of all, what state are you in? I ask because a lot of us here are all scattered around. It is great that you want to build your own aircraft, and that you are open enough to admit what you know, and what you don't (yet!). I know there are some EAA publications out there on wood and metal construction components, and perhaps there is a chapter nearby for you. Other than that, there are a few DVII enthusiasts here- who know more than one can think possible.

Good Luck, and welcome again!

Jim Bruton
DR-1 (Sands) Builders Group
Old 24 March 2006, 01:01 PM   #3
Jeff Brooks
Forum Ace of Aces

Go for it!!

I am also a first time builder, with no experience! and look at my post. there are MANY people here online to assist you and i'll bet you can find someone locally to hang out with you while you weld.

Some advice, don't just pick the fokker D VII, choose a manufacturer & tail number you want. otherwise the plans you will use will vary from manufacturer and production run.

also decide how accurate you're willing to settle on. knowing in advance that you want chrome alloy vs. mild steel in metric sizes, using breaks vs. no breaks, steerable tailwheel .... will change your design.

good luck @ keep us posted.
Old 24 March 2006, 01:07 PM   #4
Fritz Kempf
Scout Pilot

Huckebein