The Aerodrome Forum

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > WWI Aviation > People

People Topics related to WWI aviation personnel

Closed Thread

Old 1 July 2006, 10:32 AM   #1
Blue Devil
Observer

Joseph (RAF), Frankl (Germany) and Ehrlich (France) markings? Jewish Aces

Hello all, I'm new to your community and am very glad to find you! I'm a long time modeler with an interest in WWI aviation, but I've been a little scared to actually try to build some of the excellent new kits out there. Hopefully, I've found something to motivate me.

A very interesting web site out there is Jan Safarik's Aces site (http://math.fce.vutbr.cz/safarik/ACES/index.html). He has lists of aces compiled under a number of different categories, and under the Israel category he has Jewish aces of various nationalities. He states that the high scoring British Jewish ace of WWI is Solomon Clifford Joseph of 10 RNAS/210 RAF Squadron and the French ace is Jacques Louis Ehrlich. of N/Spa 154. Does anyone know where I can find markings for these pilots?

Interestingly, he lists Rudolf Berthold as Jewish (as well as Robert Stanford Tuck of the RAF in WWII!) Hmm... Anyway, anyone who can steer me to Wilhelm Frankl's Albatros markings would help too.

Thanks all!

BD (Michael Satin)
Sponsored Links
Old 2 July 2006, 01:06 AM   #2
rammjaeger
Forum Ace of Aces

Blue Devil, I leave your question to the real aircraft and marking experts.

The mentioned homepage has some errors, e.g.

Rudolf Berthold was not a Jew! That is really ridiculous because RB was one of the worst anti-semites in 1918-1920!
I think the maker of the homepage mixed RB with a Jewish pilot with name Berthold.

Further it makes no sense to me to place aces of Jewish descent under a category "Israel" because Frankl fought for the state Germany and not for Israel which did not even exist in 1917! Furthermore I don´t think Frankl would have accepted or supported the Zionist ideas because he was a German patriot (of Jewish descent).