Subscribe to remove ads

The Aerodrome Forum

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > WWI Aviation > Aircraft > Replica Aircraft

Replica Aircraft Topics related to the construction of WWI replica aircraft

Old 16 May 2008, 07:38 PM   #1
Nick
Forum Ace

Sopwith Snipe Project

Thought I'd post a few pics of my Snipe project to update where it's at.
Still plodding away slowly but surely. This is my first attempt at building an aeroplane and have found it to be a most enjoyable and rewarding learning experience.
Basically I'm trying to keep it as close to original as I can except for the engine which will be a W670 radial. Would love to have gone the Bentley way but a bit out of my price league so this will have to do.

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 16 May 2008, 07:42 PM   #2
Nick
Forum Ace

This is the instrument panel which is almost done.

Cheers, Nick Caudwell
Old 16 May 2008, 07:47 PM   #3
Nick
Forum Ace

I started 3 years ago with all the ribs. These are fairly straight forward to make and I thought if I made them first I would find out if I enjoyed the building process or not without spending to much.

Well that was it, I got sucked right in, and onto the next stage.

Nick
Old 16 May 2008, 07:52 PM   #4
Nick
Forum Ace

I then went onto some of the more complicated bits, my thinking being, now that I found out I enjoy the process I'll go for some harder bits which could possibly grind it to a halt should I not be able to make them.

Cheers, Nick
Old 16 May 2008, 08:02 PM   #5
Joe Perkel
Forum Ace

Speechless!

Nick,

To quote a speechless Walter Cronkite when Armstrong stepped on the moon...

".....Boy,...just look at those pictures!....."

I gotta tell you though, your scaring me a bit with those fittings!

I've noted that Sopwith seemed to draw these several ways, 1d early on in my case, then 2d for the Pup. How are yours!

Absolutely magnificent Nick, I'm truly inspired to plod on!

http://sopwith-baby.com/