The Aerodrome Forum
Help
Links to Other Sites
Medals and Decorations
Search The Aerodrome
Today in History

The Aerodrome Forum

Go Back   The Aerodrome Forum > Archives > 2000

2000 Closed threads from 2000 (read only)

Old 23 December 2000, 04:37 AM   #1
Ray

I would like to collect wing badges worn by WW1 pilots. Do any members of this FORUM have a similar interest in collecting, trading and sharing ideas? Are there any known "experts" in the field that might help a novice collector? MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Old 23 December 2000, 05:14 AM   #2
Steve d.

I am NOT an expert, but I DO know that there are excellent repo wings out. I have a beautiful set of Dallas wings that I bought for under $50. They were sold as repo's, but I have seen ones just like them go for hundreds (several hundreds)on eBay. The ID of these wings is that a row of stars is slightly wavy. Meyers is again manufacturing some of their WW1 wings-also beautiful, but hard (for me, anyway) to tell from original (probably made from original dies). I also have a repo metal half/wing complete with a stamped WW1 date! Where does a repo stop and a downright FAKE start? It is not an area for the novice collector.
Al kinds of US collar insignia are available as repo. I have seen enlisted aero disks (these are usually pin back), 0fficer 'wing and prop' devices, 'signal flag, wing and globe' insignia and 'signal flag and silver wing', all repo'd.
This doesn't even cover RFC items, of which there is a multitude of repo's; RFC hat badges, buttons, wings, etc. I believe Gaunt is remanufacturing such items using original dies and stamping them with the Gaunt name!
German repo's--tons of them.

Be very cautious,
Steve

Old 23 December 2000, 06:09 AM   #3
Bill