The Aerodrome Home Page
Aces of WWI
Aircraft of WWI
Books and Videos
The Aerodrome Forum
WWI Web Sites
Medals & Decorations
Search The Aerodrome
Today in History

Country: Russia
Established: The Order of Saint Anne was established on 14 February 1735 by Duke Charles Frederick of Schleswig-Holstein in honor of his deceased wife, Anna Petrovna, daughter of Peter the Great. On 15 April 1797, it was established as a Russian Order and divided into four classes by Emperor Paul I.
Classes: Four
Order of St. Anne, 2nd Class with Swords
Awarded for a distinguished career in civil service or valor and distinguished service in the military, the highly prized Order of Saint Anne entitled first class recipients to hereditary nobility while recipients of the second, third and fourth classes gained personal nobility. For military recipients, it was awarded with swords.
Recipients - World War I Aces
1 Argeyev (d'Argueff), Pavel Vladimirovich
4th Class
2 Bloch, Marcel Robert Leopold
4th Class
3 Collishaw, Raymond
4th Class
4 De Seversky, Alexander
2nd Class, 3rd Class, 4th Class
5 Gilsher, Juri
4th Class
6 Jacquet, Fernand
4th Class
7 Kokorin, Nikolai
4th Class
8 Kozakov (Kazakoff), Alexander Alexandrovich
3rd Class, 4th Class
9 Kruten, Yevgraph
4th Class
10 Leman, Ernst
4th Class
* Gazetted
1 | 2
Next Last
Aces · Aircraft · Books · Forum · Help · Links · Medals · Search · Today