The Aerodrome Home Page
Aces of WWI
Aircraft of WWI
Books and Videos
The Aerodrome Forum
WWI Web Sites
Medals & Decorations
Search The Aerodrome
Today in History

Country: United States
Established: Authorized by President Woodrow Wilson on 6 March 1918. The Distinguished Service Cross (DSC) was established pursuant to an Act of Congress, approved on 9 July 1918.
Distinguished Service Cross (DSC)
"A bronze cross of appropriate design and a ribbon to be worn in lieu thereof, to be awarded by the President, or in the name of the President, by the commanding general of the American Expeditionary Forces in Europe to any person who, while serving in any capacity with the Army, shall hereafter distinguish himself or herself, by extraordinary heroism in connection with military operations against an armed enemy of the United States under circumstances which do not justify the award of the medal of honor."
Navy Air Pilot - April 1918
Notes: "The distinguished service cross and the distinguished service medal may be awarded posthumously to persons killed in the performance of acts meriting such award or to persons whose death from any cause may have occurred prior to such award. The medal so awarded will be issued to the nearest relative of the deceased person."
Navy Air Pilot - April 1918

For subsequent acts of heroism, recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross received an oak leaf cluster.

World War I recipients: 6,041 Oak Leaf clusters awarded: 111
Recipients - World War I Aces
31 Hays, Frank Kerr
32 Healy, James Andrew
33 Holden, Lansing Colton
34 Hudson, Donald
35 Hunter, Frank O'Driscoll
36 Jones, Clinton Leonard
37 Keating, James Alfred
38 Kindley, Field Eugene
39 Knotts, Howard Clayton
40 Knowles, James
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7
First Previous Next Last
Aces · Aircraft · Books · Forum · Help · Links · Medals · Search · Today